COMMISSION DECISION

of 22 December 1999

listing the areas of Denmark eligible under Objective 2 of the Structural Funds for the period 2000 to 2006

(notified under document number C(1999) 4946)

(Only the Danish text is authentic)

(2000/121/EC)

THE COMMISSION OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community,

Having regard to Council Regulation (EC) No 1260/1999 of 21 June 1999 laying down general provisions on the Structural Funds (¹), and in particular the first subparagraph of Article 4(4) thereof,

After consulting the Advisory Committee on the Development and Conversion of Regions, the Committee on Agricultural Structures and Rural Development and the Management Committee for Fisheries and Aquaculture,

Whereas:

- point 2 of the first subparagraph of Article 1 of Regulation (EC) No 1260/1999 provides that Objective 2 of the Structural Funds is to support the economic and social conversion of areas facing structural difficulties;
- (2) the first subparagraph of Article 4(2) of Regulation (EC) No 1260/1999 provides that the Commission and the Member States shall seek to ensure that assistance is genuinely concentrated on the areas most seriously affected and at the most appropriate geographical level;
- (3) Commission Decision 1999/503/EC (2) lays down, in accordance with Article 4(2) of Regulation (EC) No 1260/1999, a population ceiling for each Member State under Objective 2 of the Structural Funds for the period 2000 to 2006. The ceiling for Denmark is 538 000 inhabitants;
- (4) Article 4(4) of Regulation (EC) No 1260/1999 states that the Commission, on the basis of proposals from the Member States and in close concertation with each Member State concerned, is to draw up a list of the areas

eligible under Objective 2 with due regard to national priorities, without prejudice to the transitional support provided for in Article 6(2) of that Regulation;

(5) Article 4(11) of Regulation (EC) No 1260/1999 provides that each list of areas eligible under Objective 2 is to be valid for seven years from 1 January 2000; however, where there is a serious crisis in a given region, the Commission, acting on a proposal from a Member State, may amend the list of areas during 2003 in accordance with paragraphs 1 to 10 of Article 4, without increasing the proportion of the population within each region referred to in Article 13(2) of that Regulation,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

Article 1

The areas in Denmark eligible under Objective 2 of the Structural Funds for the period 2000 to 2006 are listed in the Annex hereto.

This list may be amended in the course of 2003.

Article 2

This Decision is addressed to the Kingdom of Denmark.

Done at Brussels, 22 December 1999.

For the Commission

Michel BARNIER

Member of the Commission

⁽¹⁾ OJ L 161, 26.6.1999, p. 1.

⁽²⁾ OJ L 194, 27.7.1999, p. 58.

ANNEX

LIST OF AREAS ELIGIBLE UNDER OBJECTIVE 2 OF THE STRUCTURAL FUNDS IN DENMARK

(2000 to 2006)

	Eligible areas		Population living in the
NUTS III level region	All of the NUTS III level region except	Only the following areas are eligible within the NUTS III level region	eligible areas of the NUTS III level region (number of inhabitants)
	Areas satisfying the provisions of Article	e 4(6) of Regulation (EC) No 1260/1999	
Bornholms amt		Whole region	44 359
	Areas satisfying the provisions of Article	e 4(8) of Regulation (EC) No 1260/1999	
Nordjyllands amt		Municipalities: Hirtshals Læsø Skagen	29 560
	Areas satisfying the provisions of Article	4(9)(c) of Regulation (EC) No 1260/1999	
Vestsjællands amt		Municipalities: Skælskør (only the islands, Agersø, Omø) Bjergsted (only the islands, Nekselø, Sejerø) Holbæk (only the island, Orø)	1 870
Storstrøms amt		Municipalities: Holeby Højreby Maribo Møn Nakskov Nykøbing-Falster Nysted Nørre Alslev Ravnsborg Rudbjerg Rødby Sakskøbing Stubbekøbing Sydfalster	126 044



	Eligible areas		Population living in the
NUTS III level region	All of the NUTS III level region except	Only the following areas are eligible within the NUTS III level region	eligible areas of the NUTS III level region (number of inhabitants)
Fyns amt		Municipalities: Egebjerg Faaborg (except the parishes of Brahetrolleborg and Øster Hæsinge) Gudme Marstal Rudkøbing Svendborg Sydlangeland Tranekær Ærøskøbing Assens (only the island, Baagø)	95 365
Sønderjyllands amt		Municipalities: Åbenrå (only the island, Barsø) Haderslev (only the island, Årø)	216
Ribe amt		Municipality: Ribe (only the island, Mandø)	75
Vejle amt		Municipality: Juelsminde (only the island, Hjarnø, Endelave)	286
Ringkøbing amt		Municipalities: Thyholm Struer (only the island, Venø)	3 933
Århus amt		Municipalities: Samsø Grenå (only the island, Anholt) Odder (only the island, Tunø)	4 533
Viborg amt		Municipalities: Morsø Sundsøre Sydthy Aalestrup	49 107



	Eligible areas		Population living in the
NUTS III level region	All of the NUTS III level region except	Only the following areas are eligible within the NUTS III level region	eligible areas of the NUTS III level region (number of inhabitants)
Nordjyllands amt		Municipalities:	182 370
		Aalborg (only the island, Egholm)	
		Arden	
		Brovst	
		Brønderslev	
		Dronninglund	
		Farsø	
		Fjerritslev	
		Frederikshavn	
		Hobro	
		Løgstør	
		Løkken-Vrå	
		Nørager	
		Pandrup	
		Sindal	
		Sæby	